Abiola Biya
1 min readAug 9, 2018

I tried to change

Opened my mouth more

Tried to be soft, flexible.

I tried to wear her skin over mine, I wanted to look like her, become her

So I threw myself into a volcano

I swallowed a sword, I levitated

I sat alone and begged and bent at the waist for God

But my shroud is loneliness,

And my God, well, is my God

So I grew thickened skin on my feet

And broke the curse with my own two hands

I discovered the antidote in my kitchen.

I was served lemons but I made lemonade.

So this is how to make lemonade;

Take one pint of water, add a half pound of sugar, the juice of eight lemons, the zest of half a lemon.

Pour the water from one jug, then into another several times. Strain through a clean napkin.

The audience applauds, but I can’t hear them.